Ashtanga Yoga – Is it right for you?


Click the Link Below Then Try This Total Body Challenge!


Ashtanga Yoga is the type of yoga

which was urbanized and founded by K. Pattabhi Jois.

This kind of yoga is known as the Eight Limb Yoga which

has revolved in Pattanjali’s massive idea.

It presented that the path of purification is made up of the eight spiritual practices.

The first four limbs that represent Ashtanga Yoga

are – yama, niyama, Asana and the Pranayama.

These are considered cleansing practices

which are externally correctable.

The other set of limbs

which are the – pratyahara, dhyana, dharana are the internal practices.

These limbs can only be corrected

by the appropriate application of the Ashtanga Yoga method.

This type of yoga method is quite dangerous to the mind.

  1. Pattabhi Jois said that practicing these Eight Limbs

and also its sub-limbs of the external practices

which include the niyama and yama is not possible.

In doing so, the body should be strong enough

so that it can perform the practices.

If the body is weak,

and the sense organs are not functioning well,

practicing will never be useful to the person at all.

The philosophy which K. Pattabhi Jois

has applied is that you must keep in mind that

after doing this Ashtanga Yoga the body

will improve and it will be stronger and healthier.

Vinsaya and Tristhana are practiced in Ashtanga Yoga.

The Vinsaya is a style that makes Ashtanga

and its principles discrete from the others.

Vinsaya means the movement

and breathing which is used for the internal cleansing process.

Each movement done is accompanied by only one breath.

Sweat is the most important product of Vinsaya.

When you produce sweat,

it only means that you are successfully applying the practice.

When you perform the Asanas, the body creates heat

which causes your blood to boil

and excrete the toxins outside of your body.

The toxins are found in your sweat.

So the more sweat you create,

the more toxins are released.

These yoga poses are used to fully develop the strength

and health of the body.

The series of practices make this possible.

There are three postures used in Ashtanga Yoga.

The three are classified on different levels.

The first is the Primary Series

which aims on aligning the body and also detoxifying it.


The second is the Intermediate Series opening

and cleaning the energy channels

which comes to the process of purifying the Nervous System.

The last series would be the Advanced Series from A to D.

in this series, the grace and strength is measured.

The Tristhana is another yoga principle

which represents the union of the three places of action

and attention. First is the posture,

second is the breathing technique ad last is the Dristhi of the Looking Place.

All these three should work altogether to perform a function.

Breathing techniques are simultaneous and synchronized.

It is important to make a single breath for one movement.

Ujjayi Breathing is the Yoga Breathing Technique

used in the application of Ashtanga Yoga.

Applying this technique must be prolonged after every practice.

What you need to master is holding your pose longer

at the same time hold your breath.

This is an amazing breathing exercise that will increase

your internal fire and will strengthen the Nervous System.

Both Ashtanga and Tristhana deal with the series of Dristhi.

The Dristhi is described as the point on which you gain your focus

or attention while doing the Asana.

This enables your mind to be purified and stabilized clearly.

Setting the mind clear and cleansing

it can only be done in the Eight-Limb Yoga or Ashtanga Yoga.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *